5 tibetan rites
Around the World, Education, Exercise, Spiritual Growth, The Great Outdoors

The 5 Tibetan Rites

It is no surprise to us that one of the key aspects of maintaining excellent health is avoiding stress and finding calm and centered. But the question still remains, how are we going to do it? It is a fact that life is going to always have elements of stress, anxiety, anticipation, worry and doubt, so rather than push against it, let’s find a way to go along with it. Welcome to the 5 Tibetan Rites.

My way of adapting with the daily life of just being human is performing the ancient tradition of the 5 Tibetan Rites. These simple exercises were used by the Tibetan monks to live long, vibrant and healthy lives, as the exercises are a means of opening up all of your chakra systems and stimulating the circulation of essential life energy throughout the body.




The 7 Chakras

Chakra is an Indian Sanskrit word that translates to mean “Wheel of Spinning Energy”. Chakras are spinning wheels or vortexes of energy of different color that perform many functions connecting our energy fields, bodies and the Cosmic Energy Field. Chakras are powerful electrical and magnetic fields. Chakras govern the endocrine system that in turn regulates all of the body’s functions including the aging process. Energy flows from the Universal Energy Field through the chakras into the energy systems within our bodies, including the Meridian System.

Our bodies contain seven major chakras or energy centers and 122 minor chakras. The major chakras are located at the base of the spine (Root Chakra), at the navel (Sacral Chakra), in the solar plexus (Solar Plexus Chakra), within your heart (Heart Chakra), within the throat (Throat Chakra), at the center of your forehead (Brow or Third Eye Chakra), and at the top of your head (Crown Chakra). These chakras are linked together with all other energy systems in the body and various layers of the auras.

The Speed of the chakra spin is a key to vibrant health. The other keys to vibrant health that relates to the chakra is ensuring they are clear of negative energy and that they are perfectly shaped and not distorted.

The Five Rites speed up the spinning of the chakras, coordinate their spin so they are in complete harmony, distribute pure prana energy to the endocrine system, and in turn to all organs and processes in the body. This is one of the major requirements for vibrant health, rejuvenation and youthfulness.


The 5 Tibetan Rites

The full sequence of exercises only take about 15 minutes so it is a great way to begin your day, especially if you do not have a lot of time. I love performing the exercises especially when I am on the road or traveling, because you only need a small space and time for performing them. By incorporating this into your daily routine you will find not only an increase in energy but also a new found strength, flexibility and calm. Therefore, these are excellent for anyone to do of any age.

If you are just beginning the exercises, I would suggest only performing each rite 3 times for the first week. Then you will build up to performing each rite 21 times. If you are dealing with health related issues be sure to increase slowly because the 5 rites can elicit detoxification in the body.


The following is a video that you can watch to follow along with, or you can use the print directions to guide you. Either way, take this opportunity to try something new that incorporates the mind, body and soul.


Rite #1

Stand erect with arms outstretched horizontal to the floor, palms facing down. Your arms should be in line with your shoulders. Spin around clockwise until you become slightly dizzy. Gradually increase number of spins from 1 spin to 21 spins.

Breathing: Inhale and exhale deeply as you do the spins.


Rite #2

Lie flat on the floor, face up. Fully extend your arms Along your sides and place the palms of your hands against the floor, keeping fingers close together. Then raise your head off the floor tucking your chin into your chest. As you do this, lift your legs, knees straight, into a vertical position. If possible, extend the legs over the body towards your head. Do not let the knees bend. Then slowly lower the legs and head to the floor, always Keeping the knees straight. Allow the muscles to relax, and repeat.

Breathing: Breathe in deeply as you lift your head and legs and exhale as you lower your head and legs.


Rite #3

Kneel on the floor with the body erect. The hands should be placed on the backs of your thigh muscles. Incline the head and neck forward, tucking your chin in against your chest. Then throw the head and neck backward, arching the spine. Your toes should be curled under through this exercise. As you arch, you will brace your arms and hands against the thighs for support. After the arching return your body to an erect position and begin the rite all over again.

Breathing: Inhale as you arch the spine and exhale as you return to an erect position.


Rite #4

Sit down on the floor with your legs straight out in front of you and your feet about 12″ apart. With the trunk of the body erect, place the palms of your hands on the floor alongside your buttocks. Then tuck the chin forward against the chest. Now drop the head backward as far as it will go. At the same time raise your body so that the knees bend while the arms remain straight. Then tense every muscle in your body. Finally let the muscles relax as you return to your original sitting position. Rest before repeating this Rite.   

Breathing: Breathe in as you raise up, hold your breath as you tense the muscles, and breathe out fully as you come down.


Rite #5

Lie down with your face down to the floor. You will be supported by the hands palms down against the floor and the toes in the flexed position. Throughout this rite, the hands and feet should be kept straight. Start with your arms perpendicular to the Floor, and the spine arched, so that the body Is in a sagging position. Now throw the head back as far as possible. The, bending at the hips, bring the body up into an inverted “V”. At the same time, bring the chin forward, Tucking it against the chest.

Breathing: Breathe in deeply as you raise the body, and exhale fully as you lower the body.


Now you must remember to include and follow the breathing patterns because the breathe maintains the natural flow of energy through the body and is an integral part of opening up the chakras.


The 5 Rites by Eric Lon


Enjoy and Happy Longevity!

References: Mary Kurus at MK projects 


Previous Post Next Post

You Might Also Like

1 Comment

  • Reply Troy Medford December 21, 2011 at 10:31 pm

    Good Job Lauren.

  • Leave a Reply

    Content Protected Using Blog Protector By: PcDrome.